2021 Teams & Winners

2021 Contest Recap

2021 Winners

PFAS Destruction
First: Rice University
Second (tie): California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
Second (tie): University of Colorado, Boulder

Environmental Ocean Sensor
First: New Mexico State University

Mining Tasks
First: Montana Technological University
Second: Louisiana State University – Mine Tailings Reuse

Produced Water Treatment Train
University of Arkansas
University of Idaho

Open Task
University of Arkansas
(Project: “Economic Feasibility of Mixed Plastic Waste Pyrolysis using a Twin Reactor System”)
University of Tennessee, Chattanooga
(Project: Retrofit Upgrade of Stormwater Controls for Smart and Sustainable Urban Water Resources Management)

Pollution Prevention and Energy Efficiency Award (P2E2 Award)
University of Colorado, Boulder

Judges’ Choice
New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology (NM Tech)–Produced Water Treatment
Arizona State University–Mine Tailings Re-use

Terry McManus Memorial Outstanding Student Award
Claire Butler, UC Boulder
Carmen Harvey, U of Tennessee, Chattanooga
Mia Peeples, Rice University

Freeport-McMoRan Innovation in Sustainability Award
Montana Technological University (Using Agricultural By-products to Sorb Metals)
University of Arkansas (Mixed Plastic Waste Pyrolysis)

Flash Talks
First–Rice University, PFAS Destruction
Second–University of Arkansas, Produced Water Treatment Train
Third–University of Arkansas, Mixed Plastic Waste Pyrolysis
Audience Favorite– Rice University, PFAS Destruction

Team Gallery